Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lower School Library: Databases by Subject

The Eleanor Duncan Sarratt Memorial Library.

Lower School Library Online Databases

Lower School Databases by Subject

Language Arts

Language Arts

 Learn360 - a powerful infobase of videos, web clips, newspaper articles, STEAM lessons and much more. Available to teachers and students. Google login.

 Nearpod -  A student engagement platform that can be used to create presentations that can contain Quizzes, Polls, Videos, Images, Drawing-Boards, Web Content and interactive tests. Nearpod is based on teacher created accounts. Students may not use Nearpod without teacher permission. 

World Almanac for Kids - An almanac for kids that features maps, flags, animals, athletes,  character building and much more. Google login.

 

 Pebble Go - an interactive database for the younger set ages Montessori through Form 3. 

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

BrainPop and BrainPop Jr.  – Interactive, animated websites that teaches math, science, social studies, technology, fine arts, and Language Arts. BrainPop can be accessed in English, Spanish, and French.

Your teacher will give you a class code. Then sign in using your SMH credentials.

Or sign in using:  User Name: smhlower      Password: barons2

Encyclopedia Britannica – Complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes more than 130,000 links to web sites reviewed and selected by Britannica editors.  You are automatically authenticated while at school, but at home, you must use the following user name and password:

User Name: smhall    password: B@rons1

Destiny Quest: What Do I Read Next? - Online SMH Lower School database for books. Forms 3-5 only

Kidzsearch -a family safe search engine powered by Google. Use this as an alternative to using Google. Explore the KidzTube for cool videos.

Starfall - A website that helps teach Montessori through Form 2  basic reading and writing skills. Access 24/7 at school and at home.

To sign in: starfall@smhall.org

Password: smhlower

Typing Pal Saint Mary's Hall Online Keyboarding Program. To access: https://smhlower.typingpal.com  Students log in with SMH credentials log in and password.

- Visual Dictionary -  an interactive dictionary.

  Dictionary.com  - another interactive dictionary

Visual Thesaurus -   an interactive thesaurus. This log in and password is different from our usual. You are automatically authenticated at school, but at home, you must use the following user name and password.

User Name: student@smhall.org    Password: student

 

 

 

 

 

Technology Resources and E-Books

Student Instructional Technology Resources- (Click here for some help with Instructional Technology questions.)

 

E-Books for all Subjects

 

Flipster Magazines- Our online magazines. Flipster has a different password. Use smhlower for the log in and barons2! for the password for the Flipster magazines only.

 

Arbordale Publishing – ebooks with auto flip, auto read, and an option for Spanish,  English, French, Japanese and many other languages.

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

MackinVIA - A collection of fabulous e-books divided by genre. On this collection you need to type in Saint Mary's Hall lower school and then smhlower and barons2 to get to the e-books.

Name of School: Saint Mary's Hall

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

Epic Books - Instant access to over 35,000 e-books, videos, learning videos, quizzes and more for K-5. Teachers must create a free account and make assignments to students. Parents can create their own accounts.

One More Story - An online library of the best of children's classic and contemporary literature. Through a simple point and click process, children can choose a book, see the illustrations and have the book read to them whenever they want. Children in Montessori through Form 2 have their own accounts.

Read Aloud Stories - The SAG (Screen Actors Guild Foundation) hosts actors and actresses reading famous stories for children. Not to be missed.

Ryan and Craig Read Alouds - Two funny guys reading great stories aloud. Very entertaining. One of my favorite sites. 

TumbleBooks Library - ebooks that include picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, playlists, books in English, Spanish, and French, graphic novels and math stories. This is a rich collection of education materials for teachers, kids, and parents.

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

 BibliotecaTumble- E-Books in Spanish.

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

 

Social Studies

 Pebble Go - an interactive database for the younger set ages Montessori through Form 3.

 

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

 Learn360 - a powerful infobase of videos, web clips, newspaper articles, STEAM lessons and much more. Available to teachers and students. Google login.

 

BrainPop and BrainPop Jr– An interactive, animated website that teaches math, science, social studies, technology, fine arts, and Language Arts. Can be accessed in English, Spanish, and French. You may sign in using your SMH credentials or the following: User Name: smhlower   Password: barons2

 

Encyclopedia Britannica – Complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes more than 130,000 links to web sites reviewed and selected by Britannica editors. This log in and password is shared with the Upper School. You are automatically authenticated at school, but at home, you must use the following log in and password:

log in: smhall     password: B@rons1

Nearpod A student engagement platform that can be used to create presentations that can contain Quizzes, Polls, Videos, Images, Drawing-Boards, Web Content and interactive tests. Our newest offering to our teachers and students. Nearpod is a teacher based account. Students may not use Nearpod without a teacher's permission.

 

Destiny Quest: What Do I Read Next? - Online SMH Lower School database for books. Forms 3-5 only.

Kidzsearch -a family safe search engine powered by Google. Use this as an alternative to using Google. Explore the KidzTube for cool videos

 

The Smithsonian - browse through the world's largest museum, research, and education complex online

Visual Dictionary -  an interactive dictionary.

Visual Thesaurus -   an interactive thesaurus. You are automatically authenticated at school, but at home, you must use the following log in and password:

User Name: student@smhall.org    Password: student

 

Science

Science.

 Learn360 - a powerful infobase of videos, web clips, newspaper articles, STEAM lessons and much more. Available to teachers and students. Google login.

 Nearpod -  A student engagement platform that can be used to create presentations that can contain Quizzes, Polls, Videos, Images, Drawing-Boards, Web Content and interactive tests. Our newest offering to our teachers and students. Nearpod is a teacher based account. Students may not use Nearpod without teacher permission.

 

 Pebble Go - an interactive database for the younger set ages Montessori through Form 2.

 

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

A-Z Animals - An online encyclopedia of animal facts

BrainPop and BrainPop Jr.  – An interactive, animated website that teaches math, science, social studies, technology, fine arts, and Language Arts. Sign in using your SMH credentials or the following:

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

Encyclopedia Britannica – Complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes more than 130,000 links to web sites reviewed and selected by Britannica editors.  This log in and password is shared with the Upper School. You are automatically authenticated at school, but at home, you must use the following log in and password.

Log in: smhall   Password: B@rons1

 

Discovery Kids Science is squishy, yucky, and noisy, Discover all things science here!

 

Destiny Quest: What Do I Read Next? - Online SMH Lower School database for books. Forms 3-5 only

Freshwater Biome - Information about the freshwater biome.

 

Kidzsearch -a family safe search engine powered by Google. Use this as an alternative to using Google. Explore the KidzTube for cool videos

 

How Stuff Works – Want to learn how things work? How about animals and their babies? Click here to find the information you want to learn.

Kids Biology - Biology 101- The Basics of the science of biology.

Monterey Bay Aquarium Animal Guide - Excellent resource on animals and conservation.

NASA Kids – Keep up with the latest in space news. Discover new moons and planets. Learn about the latest launches and discoveries.

Scientists at the Smithsonian- a snail sleuth, a bat listener, and many other scientists working at the Smithsonian. Look at their world

 

The Kids’ Weather Channel – Want to watch volcanoes explode or just what the weather will bring today? 

The Solar System – Astronomy for Kids.

Math

Math

Nearpod -  A student engagement platform that can be used to create presentations that can contain Quizzes, Polls, Videos, Images, Drawing-Boards, Web Content and interactive tests. Our newest offering to our teachers and students. Nearpod is a teacher based account. Students may not use Nearpod without teacher permission.

 

 Pebble Go - an interactive database for the younger set ages Montessori through Form 2.

 

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

ABCya - online videos and games

BrainPop and BrainPop Jr.  – An interactive, animated website that teaches math, science, social studies, technology, fine arts, and Language Arts. Log in using your SMH credentials or the following:

User Name: smhlower

Password: barons2

 

Encyclopedia Britannica – Complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Includes more than 130,000 links to web sites reviewed and selected by Britannica editors. This database is shared with the Upper School. You are automatically authenticated at school, but at home you must use the following log in and password:

log in: smhall   password: B@rons1

Kidzsearch -a family safe search engine powered by Google. Use this as an alternative to using Google. Explore the KidzTube for cool videos.

XtraMath -online math activities

 

Saint Mary’s Hall Teach Us Delight in Simple Things. 9401 Starcrest Drive, San Antonio, TX 78217 Contact Us © Saint Mary’s Hall